CMU finishes undefeated in MAC play with 45-31 win over Northern Illinois

It was a historic day for the Central Michigan football program on many levels. CMU's 45-31 victory over Northern Illinois cemented this team in the record books as the only Chippewas squad to go undefeated in MAC play and seniors Dan LeFevour and Bryan Anderson added a few more records to their names.
Anderson caught a pass for the 52nd consecutive came and became the sole leader for most consecutive games played with a reception, passing former Texas Tech tailback Taurean Henderson. LeFevour also added to his lore as he completed 27-41 passes for 255 yards and three touchdowns. LeFevour came into today's game with 96 career touchdown passes and was four behind Chad Pennington(100) and two behind Western Michigan's Tim Hiller for the all-time lead in the MAC. He now sits just one away from Pennington and officially passes Hiller for good as the Bronco's senior quarterback has played the final game in his career.
Central Michigan would jump out to a 24-10 halftime lead and build the lead to 31-10 before the Huskies would start a late rally, scoring 21 fourth quarter points. Senior defensive end Frank Zombo would put the finishing touches on Northern Illinois when he intercepted a Chandler Harnish pass and took it back 27-yards for a touchdown late in the game. That touchdown put CMU up 45-24 and out of reach from the Huskies.

Article Continues Below
CMU would account for 512 yards of total offense and sophomore running back Bryan Schroeder would continue his strong play as he totaled 128 yards and two touchdowns on just nine carries, including an 80-yard touchdown run on the first play of the second half. Junior wideout Kito Poblah would lead the Chippewas in receiving with five catches for 77 yards and a touchdown.
Defensively, the Chippewas would also do their part, limiting the run heavy Huskies to just 126 yards on the ground and picking off Harnish twice.
Central Michigan returns to action next Friday as they face the Ohio Bobcats in the MAC Championship game (8pm, ESPN2).